Magadh University

Magadh University Bodhgaya Bihar
Magadh University is situated Bodh Gaya, in Bihar state, India. It is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The university is now governed by Bihar State University Act 1976. The university provides facilities for higher learning and research in the faculties of science, social sciences, humanities and commerce.

Magadh University was established in 1962 by Satyendra Narayan Sinha, an educationist and the then Education Minister of Bihar. K. K. Dutta, the historian, was the founder vice-chancellor. It started functioning from 2 March 1962 with two constituent colleges, 32 affiliated colleges and seven postgraduate departments.

In 1992, 17 constituent colleges were transferred to the newly constituted V K. Singh University, Arrah (Bhojour). The university has grown to consist of 24 postgraduate departments, 44 constituent colleges, and 85 affiliated colleges imparting higher education in Humanities, Social Science, Science, Commerce, Medical, Engineering and Management. Several professional/vocational courses like M.B.A., M.C.A., B.C.A., B.B.M. Environmental Science, Tourism & Travel Management, Counseling & Rehabilitation, Journalism & Mass Communication, etc. are being run in constituent/affiliated colleges. There are two government Medical Colleges, two private Engineering Colleges, one private Dental College and three Law colleges under the university. The university also provides distance learning facilities.

The university has a multi-storied library, the Mannulal Central Library, besides the department libraries. The central library has about 162,245 books, manuscripts and other reading materials. It has a wide range of ancient and modern literature and books as well as national and international journals.

All the science departments including Psychology and Geography have well-equipped laboratories for teaching and research. The research facilities are available in all the departments. The Science Labs have modern equipments required for research.

There are eight hostels on campus having accommodation facilities for 1500 students. One girls’ hostel is available to accommodate 150 female students.

The University Health Centre-cum-Dispensary provides medical facilities to students, teachers and other employees residing the university campus as well as outside the university campus round the clock. It has the services of three doctors, nurses and sufficient number of supporting paramedical staff.

A branch of Central Bank of India is functioning on the campus. Likewise a post office is also there on the university campus.

A large sports complex is on the campus for outdoor and indoor games, particularly athletic events.

The University is developing a modern Computer Lab to the requirement of MCA teaching. Besides the facilities for practical work in courses at the university headquarters, the constituent colleges also have computer and language labs.

Post a Comment


(c) News24x7

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.
Javascript DisablePlease Enable Javascript To See All Widget